The Artist and the Geek

Reviews. Travel. TAATG

Wewentshoppingat Iwannagohome and IKEA

On Sunday, Sidah and I took a drive down to Great World City to take a look as we were told that it’s a great place to (window)shop for stuff for the house. So after a wedding lunch we went down to take a look at Molecule – which was supposedly having a moving out sale, Vhive – as we saw someone on Renotalk had bought a pair of barstools that were worth considering and finally Iwannagohome – just to drool over stuff we could never afford.

Molecule was disappointing to say the least. There was a 15% discount but nothing really caught our eye there. The barstools at Vhive were nice looking and value for money, but they didn’t have a proper back and I am still hoping I can find one that is much more stable than the ones I have found.

Iwannagohome was worth the whole trip. We ended up getting some small items for the house. We were very tempted to make some very big buys there too. We were eyeing a very stable bar wooden bar chair which was sturdy and oh so comfortable ($399 each!), some storage settes which could double up as coffee tables and were this close to signing off on this wonderful $1999 tall purple couch. In the end we reasoned all the colors did not match our current couches – just barely managed to make it out without making any purchases.

The total damage done was $166 including GST. This included 2 laundry bins ($49 each) and a matching 3 piece basket set ($29). We also grabbed a white bin ($39) to go in the kitchen.

The very next day, our shopping quest continued to IKEA. Sidah was insistent that we spend more than $128 so that we could claim a $20 food voucher to redeem at their food court. That’s how they get you to spend!

We bought quite a few items and I was very pleased that some of the items we got fit in perfectly in the kitchen. This rubber plate rack ($8) will definitely come in useful and I am so glad it fit our sink. We placed 4 bins ($15 with lid, $12 without) under the sink for recycling purposes – to separate glass, plastic and paper and dry waste. We still need one for wet waste which needs to hold a plastic bag for easy disposal.

The last picture is a stainless steel bin which I just grabbed as we were at the counter when we realized that our total was just under $100. I also grabbed a toilet brush and some fabric compartments for my drawers so Sidah still got her voucher.

This last purchase was made last year at one of those IT shows at the Expo. I saw a $20 iPad mount meant to be used on a car windshield but I had serious doubts it would hold. I did see the potential for its use and I am so glad I grabbed it while I could. It adds a little tech touch to my kitchen.

The shopping would continue on this week – we’re still on the hunt for our bar stools. We need coffee tables fir the living room, a pair of side tables for our bed and a study table. We still haven’t figured out what to do for a tv console and a tv. Argh! Wallet pain.

Published by

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.